[ep] Joanie – Neurotica

Rising star Joanie has shared her debut EP Neurotica — a set of four dance anthems, led by the singer’s sweet voice. Produced by Jessica Winter, it is out today on Permanent Creeps Records.

Joanie is obviously in a hurry to some kind of party and we are all invited. The main action begins with a dark pop track “Kerosene”, the chorus of which instantly etches into the memory. The artist is ready to burn through the night away, even if she has to set herself on fire. “I can feel my heart burnin’ / Fill me up with kerosene”, she sings to a dainty saxophone.

As it happens in good stories after a burnt-out night follows “Casino”, where Joanie experiments with backing vocals and rhythm changes. The last track in her collection is the relaxed electropop hit “Your Kind Of Freak” — a showcase of the artist’s theatrical abilities and genre fluidity. Did the dance party end too soon? Press the repeat button.

Listen below and get the EP here.

[video] DAMEFRISØR – D.O.D.

“D.O.D.”, a brand new single from the Bristol band DAMEFRISØR strikes hard and immediately. An industrial rock number, produced by Alex Greaves (bdrmm, LICE, Working Men’s Club), it is filled with pulsing synths, moody guitars and loud drums. Combined with gloomy lyrics and cold, detached vocal delivery the song leaves a very strong impression and pleasant aftertaste.

It is taken from the band’s upcoming EP Island Of Light, which is out February 24 via Permanent Creeps and is presented along with the music video, directed & produced by Clump Collective.

Watch it below and pre-order the EP here.

[song] Enter Laughing – Met Me Wen I Landed

North London-based band Enter Laughing just debuted with the powerful single “Met Me When I Landed”. On it four-piece plays with contrasts by mixing cosmic synths, marching rhythms and monotonous vocals that gain momentum on the repeated lines of “Just say when it’s over”.

The song is very impressive and leaves the listener wanting more. We hope that the group will not wait too long before sharing the next one!

Listen below and get the track here, out now via Permanent Creeps Records.