[album] White Flowers – Are You

During the last couple of years, White Flowers have established themselves as one of the most enigmatic and exciting new groups, and each of their new releases adds to their reputation.

Are You is not an exception, it is a brilliant mixture of intuitive home recordings and refined studio production (aided by producer Ali Chant) of dark, endlessly beautiful and haunting songs. It absorbs you immediately and does not let you go long after the EP stops — the 4 quietly disturbing numbers will get stuck in your head for quite some time.

Check it out below and buy the record here.

[album] William Doyle – Alternate Lands

Back in March, William Doyle has released his masterful sophomore LP Great Spans of Muddy Time, and now we are treated with an extra EP that includes 4 additional tracks.

The songs were created from the sketches that were done when the artist was recording the album, but despite the fact that they were crafted during the same time, he says that they have been taken in a different, more current direction. Based on this, the EP perhaps can be viewed as a bridge between the Great Spans of Muddy Time and the next record.

Judging by the marvelous three originals and beautiful Robyn Hitchcock cover (“Autumn Is Your Last Chance”), Doyle is truly blossoming creatively at the moment, and we already cannot wait for his next release.

Stream below and purchase it on Bandcamp, available now via Tough Love.

[album] Badwan / Coxon – Boiling Point ​/​ Promise Land

While we are patiently waiting for The Horrors to announce new music, the band’s Faris Badwan has just released a new 12” via Tough Love Records — his collaboration with the guitarist John Coxon (Spiritualized / Spring Heel Jack / Treader).

The release features two raw, powerful and noisy numbers, “Boiling Point​” and “​Promise Land”, which sound fresh and very exciting. The good news is also the fact that this is the first release of an ongoing collaborative series between Faris and other artists, and we cannot wait to see what he has got in store for us next.

Listen below and buy the vinyl/digital version on Bandcamp.

[video] Part Time – Spell #6

LA-based David Loca, who is performing as Part Time, has released the outstanding video for “Spell #6”, directed by Conor Rollins.

The track is taken from his album of the same title, which came out in November last year via Tough Love / Burger Records.

Buy it here and watch the clip below.

[song] Girls Names – 25

Girls Names     Photo via Girls Names’s Bandcamp

Girls Names will release a new album, entitled Stains on Silence this June via Tough Love Records, and they have shared the first taste of it with “25” — you can listen below.

Full of melancholy and haunting synths, it is a dark, atmospheric and beautiful song. Pre-order the album here.