[song] Sour Blue – Weatherwax

The last time we heard from an art rock collective Sour Blue was in October when the band released their brilliant debut Schema. Now they are back with the new single, a mesmerizing composition “Weatherwax”.

On it musicians emphasize their undoubted professionalism, creating a sense of controlled chaos, and masterfully mixing genres, bridging krautrock, dance music, shoegaze, folk, and even classical. The track begins calmly, gradually gaining momentum and surprising at every corner with cool and unexpected details. An amazing taster — hopefully we will get more soon!

Listen below.

[song] Fake Palms – Visions

Having teased us already with the single “Satellite”, Fake Palms unleash another stunning cut, a short and punchy ripper “Visions”. It is taken from their upcoming album Lemons, set for release on September 16 via Hand Drawn Dracula.

Talking about the song, Michael le Riche, the artist behind the project, says: “It is the sound of power chords and an overactive right arm. No more intricate, overly complex guitar parts or different time signatures. It’s Buzzcocks or the Dead Boys at its core, angular and jangly. Musically, it’s the most direct thing I’ve ever done. No hiding behind walls of reverb, mutating time signatures, or vague lyrics”.

Stream below and pre-order the LP here.

[song] Pale Blue Eyes – Star Vehicle

The UK-based trio Pale Blue Eyes will release their debut album Souvenirs on September 2 via Full Time Hobby (pre-order it here).

We have already heard a steady run of new songs — “Globe”, “TV Flicker”, “Dr Pong”, and now the band shares a fourth single, “Star Vehicle”. It is a cheerful, dreamy, and upbeat number, which makes us even more excited about their upcoming LP.

Listen below.

[song] Tom Vek – Fountains Spit Your New Name

In 2020 Tom Vek returned with the glorious LP New Symbols, and now it is time for the remixes. The album of reworks (all made by Tom himself) would be called Newer Symbols, and tracks will be coming out once a week, every Monday.

Yesterday saw the release of “Fountains Spit Your New Name”, which is, as you may have guessed, a new version of “Fountains Spit Your Name”. It sounds awesome.

Stream below.

[song] Art Moore – A Different Life

Ahead of the release of their debut self-titled album later this Summer on ANTI-, Art Moore share the latest single from it, “A Different Life”. It follows the previously unleashed songs “Muscle Memory” and “Snowy”.

A trio, composed of Boy Scouts’ Taylor Vick and Ezra Furman collaborators and bandmates Sam Duerkes and Trevor Brook, masterfully create a gentle, enveloping sound that works really well with its haunting melodies.

Listen below.