[song] Wheatness – The Future

“The Future” is a new single by Odesa-based musician Dmytro Vaskovets (who performs under the moniker Wheatness), and it showcases the skilled, passionate and fully-formed artist with a clear vision. The driving force behind the release, in author’s words, was an unstoppable reflection on the events of the ongoing war in Ukraine.

It is a beautiful and fine-crafted collection of three songs, which shows that during his time in other bands (such as Night Dew Call), the artist was formulating his own sound and stumbled upon a fresh and exciting take on it — Wheatness’s melancholy-tinged shoegaze melodies are ambitious, big and loud. With no fillers and messing around, it’s an energetic, punchy and pure roar of independent music.

All tracks on the release were written, recorded, performed, and mixed by Dmytro himself. The single is out via Liky Pid Nohamy, a brand new record label from Ukraine, which recently unveiled its debut compilation VA. NOTATOK 1 (that also features Wheatness) and the debut LP by another Odesa artist Volodymyr Chyhrynets’.

Stream below and purchase the single on Bandcamp.

[song] whenyoung – Unchained

Having teased us already with the singles “A Little Piece Of Heaven” and “The Laundress”, whenyoung share another stunning indie pop cut “Unchained”.

It is taken from the duo’s upcoming album Paragon Songs, set for release on April 7. The record, described as a self-help and rite of passage album, was written between a cottage in County Clare on the West coast of Ireland, and in a flat on a street called Paragon on the East coast of England.

The group would also embark on a tour in April 2023 across the UK and Ireland. More information regarding the dates and tickets can be found here.

Listen to the song below and pre-order the LP.

[video] MYNK – Boundaries

London trio MYNK make an impressive entrance with their debut single “Boundaries”, which was produced by Faris Badwan (The Horrors, Cat’s Eyes).

The group masterfully fuses pop sensibilities with fragile and gothy vocals, coldwave grooves and minimal guitars. The single goes together with the music video, directed and edited by Lewis Clark and Bex Morrison, which brilliantly complements it.

Watch below and get the song here.

[album] Born At Midnite – Alternity

Every song on Alternity, a short new extended play by Born At Midnite is so good and catchy that after just a couple of spins you’ll immediately fall in love with it.

The Montreal-based duo of Amery Sandford (Alpen Glow, BBQT) and David Carriere (DVC Refreshments, TOPS) began writing together in late 2018, and with each release they are leveling up on their very own brand of smart, fun and pleasing to the ear independent pop music.

Stream below and buy the EP here.

[video] Humour – jeans

Today sees the release of pure misery, a debut EP by Glaswegian five-piece band Humour. It is out via So Young Records.

With 6 tracks, clocking in at 20 minutes, it is an unstoppable collection of hard-hitting numbers, shaping between contemporary post-punk and loud, chaotic noise rock. An ideal mini-album to get immersed in and reflect on another tough year, with not much brightness ahead of us.

The latest single from it, “jeans”, got a powerful and striking music video, created by Luke Ainger, Fred Qvortrup and Cat Williams.

The group shared the following about the song: “Jeans is about a character who is internally trying to build himself up and convince himself that he’s a successful and confident no-nonsense man. But he periodically has lapses in this forced self-assuredness and realises that he is not any of those things and is in fact quite a sad, pathetic and laughable character. Much like myself”.

Watch it below and purchase the EP here.