[album] MELTS – Maelstrom

Dublin five-piece MELTS strikes gold with their fantastic debut LP Maelstrom. Produced by Daniel Fox of Gilla Band, it showcases the group’s ability to masterfully mix post-punk with krautrock sensibilities, embracing repetition, propulsive rhythms and unstoppable energy.

The album’s ferocity can’t be understated, as it goes really hard, not stopping for a second. Really powerful stuff and definitely a band to catch performing live.

Listen below and purchase the record here.

[video] Agar Agar – Trouble

After two years without releasing music, French duo Agar Agar returned with the new single “Trouble”, out now through Cracki Records / Sony Music France.

It is a shapeshifting and forward-thinking electropop number, unpredictable and at times a bit bizarre, which only makes it better. Hopefully, an album (or EP) is on the way.

Moreover, the song is out alongside the absolutely amazing music video, for which the band have worked with video game programmer and designer Jonathan Coryn.

Watch it below.

[song] Tom Vek – Fountains Spit Your New Name

In 2020 Tom Vek returned with the glorious LP New Symbols, and now it is time for the remixes. The album of reworks (all made by Tom himself) would be called Newer Symbols, and tracks will be coming out once a week, every Monday.

Yesterday saw the release of “Fountains Spit Your New Name”, which is, as you may have guessed, a new version of “Fountains Spit Your Name”. It sounds awesome.

Stream below.

[video] NOVA BLAST – IndoorSong

“IndoorSong”, a brand new single from the Swedish duo NOVA BLAST strikes fast and hard. It is filled with heavy guitars and loud drums, it is catchy and beautiful.

The song is taken from Eccolalia, their upcoming debut LP, which is set for release on September 16 via Rama Lama Records.

Watch the video for the track below and pre-order the record here.

[album] Popstrangers – In Spirit

The new LP from Popstrangers came in as a very pleasant surprise for us that we did not expect. The London-via-New-Zealand outfit made a lot of noise back in the early 2010s when they released two brilliant albums — Antipodes in 2013 and Fortuna in 2014. Both consisted of fantastic songs, some of which I am still playing from time to time (“Country Kills” is one of my all-time favourites).

And now we have In Spirit (out via Rice Is Nice), a brand new record from the group, ten new pieces of which were written over the summer of 2018-19 in rural New Zealand. They still sound amazing and kick it off, landing somewhere between psychedelic pop, lo-fi, noise and indie rock of the 90s, successively mixing it into the cohesive, hazy and organic whole. Great stuff for this hot Summer!

Check it out below and buy the album here.